Help needed for MP3 Player DAC project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

before i start i want to notice :

. I'm french so excuse me for "french sounding" sentences and miss understanding
. I'm a real newbie in hifi, audio, electronic science. The only thing i have ever done is soldering by following schematics, i'm not able to design it.
. I've made a lot of searches before and i ve understood the guidelines but when you talk about TX15465 or other, it's just fully unkown for me. So i need a line to follow because my lack of knowledge let me lost in the forum.

Then i want to give you the background of the project. If I'm going in the wrong way, you'll be able to warn me.

I want to make a caraudio system composed by :

- a source : iRiver iHP140 (mp3 jukebox)
- an amp : axton 4x60wrms
- 2-way speekers : canton QS2.16

As you see i don't want a standard carplayer as a source but only my mp3 player.

My player has an optical line out that i want to use. So the project takes place between player and amp. I'd like to make a DAC associated with a preamp to control the analog output level before the amp.

My needs concerning DAC and preamp :

DAC
. only one digital input (my player output is a optical minijack)
. with only one stereo output
. aimed quality is something homogeneous. I don't want a very expensive DAC with a 300$ audio system (the matter when i read all your DACs projects was i couldn't say if it was very HQ or not, no idea at all !)

PREAMP
. only one analog stereo input
. only one regulated analog stereo output to the amp
. the preamp is the only way i can adjust the sound level

I think that's all so i need a lot of help to know :

. if i didn't say anything totally stupid, if i go in the good way
. if i can make it
. how does it cost, and the way to make it cheaper if it's too expensive

Regards
Vincent

Status