total newbie: transformer coupled digital out

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!
I'm new at this. I'm modifying my cheap Sony DVDP, used as transport->Monarchy's DIP upsampler->M-Audio moded superDAC.

I've been told that putting transformers on digital in/outs makes wonders. I've got two 1:1 mini-thoroids for this. The Sony's PCB seem very light to re-solder (?).

Any advices about which is the best way to implement this are welcome. Also if someone could post a simple wiring diagram I'll be indebted for life.

Thanks.
Mauricio.

PS: I also consider a thoroidal choke for PS.

Wonders.....?

Well, it depends.....

They provide galvanic isolation, which helps.

But.....it is hard to get the output impedance right......especially if you are unable to build a zobel network for the transformer.

Most transformers sold for that purpose are inadequate.

Simple wiring diagram.......well, yes, I could draw one for you, but how it implemented is much more important. And that can not be easily drawn.

But a hint......

The impedance of the output has to match the impedance of both the receiver and the cable.

The impecance of a RCA jack is around 30+ ohms, which is too far off to yield excellent results. Yes, it will work, but you notice that you observed tonal qualities that you did not like.

Jocko

I use one at both ends......

But I think that I can safely say that it will not automatically improve impedance match. In fact, it will probably make it worse. Adding transformers can be tricky, even with good ones.

A now retired member does not believe in using them at the receive end. But if he were here, I am sure that he would agree on how difficult it is to find the right transformer for this application. A lot of what is written about them is incorrect, as it is mainly marketing nonsense.

But in brief.......