Reclocking CDPro, TubeDac and I2S, Newbie asks questions!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all

Please excuse the following ramble and stream of thoughts and questions but not sure what to do next and would welcome any thoughts (dismissive or otherwise) and a little enlightenment. Be warned though, I am a complete novice with little experience wandering foolishly into territory I have no business in, but I'm afraid that doesn't seem to stop me and I'm curious about some of this digital stuff!

I just finished building a transport kit based on the Philips CDPro2 mechanism (not too difficult as display and power supply PCB's already made up). This is hooked up to the Scott Nixon Tubedac I built last year. I had no idea how the DAC worked when I built it (but now beginning to get a vague idea) but it worked first time and I am pleased with it. The CDPro transport replaces my ancient Marantz CD63KI, which is starting to show its age. It is definitely an improvement on the Marantz but not as much as I would like (I expected this would be the case before I started but was hell bent on building one anyway). I did though reclock the Marantz, with a Trichord clock II, which methinks must be giving it an advantage.

I am thinking therefore of reclocking the CDPro. I have seen some good instructions (I need clear instructions!) on the Homeoptics site for fitting a Tentlabs XO3 clock to the CDPro. This seems like a good clock for a reasonable price, does anyone have experience of this? The XO3 also seems to have a second reclocking circuit to improve the SPDIF output of the transport (not sure how this works, is it simply a second clock feed fed into the SPDIF output somehow?), which seems a good thing. I could therefore go ahead and fit the XO3. There is also an XO-DAC but this is getting expensive!