DIY DSP Engine

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'd like to educate myself on DSP by making a DIY digital equalizer and loudspeaker crossover. So far, in my research into getting started, I've run across the TI TMDSDSK6713 development board (see http://focus.ti.com/docs/toolsw/folders/print/tmdsdsk6713.html) as a good and affordable DSP hardware platform I've also found a board that plugs into the TI board (see http://www.mds.com/Products/product.asp?prod=ADK) that provides for audio input and output.

Is anyone else doing this sort of thing? Does anyone have other suggestions for hardware? Lastly, what would it take to build something like the MDS board? I have an BSEE degree, but I've been a software guy for the last 20 years. What does it take to do DIY board design and assembly these days?

The MDS product costs around $1000, so building something would have to be cheaper enough to make it worth the while.

Thanks.

Paul Ebert

There was a guy doing just that sort of thing at the Dutch DIY audio day, sorry i can't remeber his name:confused:. He had got analogue and digital active X-overs in the same box. He could switch between the two from his pc/listening seat and alter the digi parameters from there too. Driving some pretty high class drivers from it too, although, the digi side of things wasn't fully operational yet. Very impressive!
Mark