CD Player vs. CD Transport using CD-PRO2 module - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th April 2004, 04:13 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default CD Player vs. CD Transport using CD-PRO2 module

As I am studying the CD-PRO2 module kit, like the one built by Peter Daniel and Brian Bell, I am wondering:

What's fundermental advantages that CD transport provides that is lacking in regular CD player, or even cheaper DVD player? as the price is 10 times more....

I already have the Sony SACD player with my Audio Alchemy DTI Pro 32 (jitter reduction) and Perpetual P3A DAC, will CD-PRO2 CD Transport (DIY kit) make my CD sounds even significantly better?

Thomas

(DIY is fun, but to spend lots of money and the sound is still the same isn't fun at all....)
Old 13th April 2004, 12:46 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
It all depends on implementation, PS and chassis.

For instance, my Marantz CD-94 and cheap Dynaco player sounded better today than my copper frame CD-Pro transport. I was quite surprised by that

I'm taking power to the display and control logic from 5V digital supply to the transport, so maybe this affect the sound somehow? But just using CD-Pro as a mechanism, doesn't automatically guarantee the perfect sound

I'm also having doubts if copper is actually good choice for the transport frame. It seemed to be overdamped and doesn't produce enough air and space.
Old 13th April 2004, 06:27 PM   #3
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

CD Pro 2's qualities are exxagerated. A slightly modified older cdplayer with swingarm can be better and is definitely cheaper. Also the newer Sony ( DVD ) mechanics are more interesting performancewise.