Playstation as CD-player - Page 273 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd June 2012, 11:35 AM   #2721
diyAudio Member

Hi everyone, I am a noob here, but I was wondering if it would be possible to use a playstation as a DAC for a computer, using a USB/optical connection and perhaps wiring it in so that it bypasses the the processor or the laser input to the processor? (Just for your information, my knowledge of electronics is highly limited - as in I know what happens when you put resistors/capacitors in series or parallel)
Old 3rd June 2012, 12:11 PM   #2722
Puffin is offline Puffin  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Someone else will probably put me right, but I don't think that the player supports i2s which is what would be needed to supply a digital interface for a signal to a Dac.
Old 3rd June 2012, 09:51 PM   #2723
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puffin View Post
Someone else will probably put me right, but I don't think that the player supports i2s which is what would be needed to supply a digital interface for a signal to a Dac.
The AK D/A converter has I2S signals running into it, so you can tap signals from there. Apparently people like the PS because of it's AK D/A converter, so they don't bother using a separate one. The pinout of everything is here, but that's the SCPH7000. The link has a circuit for it's I2S to S/PDIF conversion. The converter on that page uses an obseleted Toshiba IC. It can be found on ebay for cheap, but who knows if it's a counterfeit part or not. I built a converter for the Nintendo Gamecube using the same IC. If a suitable coaxial cable driver can be designed, the I2S lines can be sent over coax with BNC connectors.