Playstation as CD-player - Page 206 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th May 2008, 08:48 PM   #2051
diyAudio Member

You can safely leave those two caps in. They are 120pF, their function is to keep out any eventual RF interferences.
I am no engineer either hehe... but glad my post was helpful
Old 29th May 2008, 07:05 AM   #2052
Tolu is offline Tolu  Germany
diyAudio Member

OK, now it is better than before. I have to do some serious listening comparisons between original PS1 Multi-A/V-output (reference) and the modded one. What I can say is that the new mod now plays very fine and detailed with a good but a litte bit narrower stage. I have to give caps a little time to acclimate.

I will further report...
Old 31st May 2008, 08:25 AM   #2053
diyAudio Member

I just modded my PS1 today and I am very impressed. I really appreciate what Mick and the boys have done. Thanks guys!

I used Wima Black Box Audio 3.3uF 5% 400V capacitors, some carbon 22K resistors. The wire I used was nexxtech 18 gauge hook up wire I got from The Source. The solder was silver loaded rosin.

I know nothing of electronics and just mimicked the site for the most part. Does anyone think I should use better wire? I thought it might be a bit crude. Were the Wima caps a good choice? They are much higher voltage than those on the site and are so large they must be placed externally. Would metal oxide or any other kind of resistor be better than the carbon ones? I think the solder is good though and have used it for my cartridge tags.