Is faster better ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just to make an official warning : I'm new to modding of electronics...

the setting : I have an old philips CD950 in good condition. (Just to refresh your mind : CDM9 transport, SAA7350/TDA1547 DAC, NE5532 output filter)
As a learning project I would like to make some changes just to see how far I can go with it. Off course I'm after the 'best' sound, but also in the least expensive way (aren't we all ?)

Things I've done so far is changing the oscillator crystal with a TentXO --> definite improvement here (Thanks Guido !)

Next on my list is upgrading the electrolytic caps in supply lines and output to Black Gates.

Now for the questions : I'm also looking for a suitable replacement for the NE5532 dual opamps, which are used only for a 3rd order filter. The schematic used in my player is essentially the same as in the TDA1547 datasheet. (Yes I've got the service manual)

I've searched the net and these forums a lot and found this list of possible suitable replacements :

NE5532 (8 V/µs ; 10 MHz)
OPA2604 (25 V/µs ; 20 MHz)
OPA2134 (20 V/µs ; 8 MHz)
AD712 (20 V/µs ; 4 MHz)
AD826 (350 V/µs ; 50 MHz)
LM6172 (3000 V/µs ; 100 MHz)

As you can see I've done my homework and I've listed the slewrate and unity gain bandwith. Some ones are the dual versions of some single opamps praised by some...

The thing that strikes me is that all of the types mentioned are 'faster' or better responding than the original 5532, however the one loved the most is the AD826 (827 in single version). The LM is faster, so should it be even better ?
Or are there other things to look for ?

As I said : I'm new to this, so I'd like to learn this the right way, thus asking for some input of the pro's...

thanks