Asynchronous Sample Rate Conversion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
dddac, thanks for the posts ...

My experience with Asynchronous Sample Rate Converters includes architecture, design, test & measurement of silicon implementations, as well as limited personal use in audio equipment. It's my intention with this thread to describe the technical details of how they work, and provide a performance comparison to PLL-based clock recovery schemes. And I welcome any feedback about how they sound :)

I have no direct experience with the dddac1543. But your measurements of the various audio spectra look quite puzzling. The effects of Asynchronous Rate Conversion, implemented in devices like the CS8420 & the AD1896, are particularly easy to measure, and should not vary THAT dramatically from DAC to DAC ... for the simple reason that any DACs in question will be clocked by a local, ultra-clean crystal oscillator in the ASRC environment, so any varying jitter-sensitivities between DACs will be completely eliminated. Which, of course, leaves only the audio band data. Why would two DACs, each clocked by an ultra-clean clock, have such dramtically different responses to the same audio band data, and hence the same audio band input spectrum? I suggest the problem is not in the ASRC.

But please allow me to ask some questions for clarification :

1. Just to make sure, you are referring to Asynchronous Sample Rate Conversion, and not simply Asynchronous Re-Sampling, correct? I know you mentioned the CS8420, which does indeed perform Asynch Rate conversion ... that is, re-calculating the correct audio output samples that correspond to the new time points.

2. Were the observations you made ... namely, different DACs responding differently to the rate-converted data ... driven by the same data, at the same time? I ask because I know the CS8420 has had it's share of bugs & glitches over the years.