DAC Mod Suggestions?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All,
Im new to digital tinkering and am trying to get my feet wet playing with this DAC while i get educated.

This is an Entech Number Cruncher 203.2. As you see it has cs8412 and had a cs4329. I swapped it out for fun with a CS4390 and adding a 20pin socket. IT has a OPA2134.

Any thoughts on best place to start for upgrading?? Like which capacitors to replace? I see talk of opamp upgrades and clocks etc.
Im open to all sugestions!
Thanks

Attachments

• entech_203.2.jpg
    entech_203.2.jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 1,214
Flappytango said:
Hello All,
Im new to digital tinkering and am trying to get my feet wet playing with this DAC while i get educated.

This is an Entech Number Cruncher 203.2. As you see it has cs8412 and had a cs4329. I swapped it out for fun with a CS4390 and adding a 20pin socket. IT has a OPA2134.

Any thoughts on best place to start for upgrading?? Like which capacitors to replace? I see talk of opamp upgrades and clocks etc.
Im open to all sugestions!
Thanks

clock upgrade is a must if you respect all bits.....

Guido

ok clock ive seen discussion of clock improvement being very rewarding.. ill look into it.

i dont understand how better triggering really allows you to respect the bits?

are those polyester caps worth replacing ? Is it best to do all or will any benefits come from selective replacement??

Flappytango said:
ok clock ive seen discussion of clock improvement being very rewarding.. ill look into it.

i dont understand how better triggering really allows you to respect the bits?

are those polyester caps worth replacing ? Is it best to do all or will any benefits come from selective replacement??

Hi

The bits represent the amplitude. Conversion at wrong moment converts correct amplitude at wrong moment which yields distorrtion, at the end...........

regards

Hey Flappytango: