Need help entering the Digital world. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th January 2015, 07:10 AM   #1
GeeVee is offline GeeVee  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Need help entering the Digital world.

Hi all
I have been hanging around DIYAUDIO for many years, and have never delved outside the analogue section of this great site.

Anyway, it is now 2015, and I am getting dragged kicking and screaming into the digital world.

I have done as much research as I can, but I still am not comfortable that I fully understand what is required, and the best way to implement what I am trying to achieve.

I am sure that many may find my questions humorous!!
Anyway, here goes:

I have a vast collection of vinyl, many of them audiophile recordings, and a substantial collection of Ĺ in R to R of live band recordings. (Many of them using Nakamichi Hi Com and DBX Noise reduction)
All equipment for vinyl playback and R to R playback etc is ready to go.
Essentially, I would like to transfer all of these recordings to a computer / hard disk, at the highest possible resolution, without getting silly. (I hear 24 bit, 192 kHz is the way to go)

I have looked at several DACís with USB and fire wire interfaces, but canít understand how you select the bit size and sampling rate, as most are just boxes with no controls.

Now the questions:

1.How do you alter the sampling rate / bit depth. Is this done through software? If so are there generic ones out there?

2.USB 2 or Fire wire?

3.What is the best format for high quality? I hear .WAV and .FLAC are the way to go

4.Any suggestions on commercial DACís, which are reasonably priced?

5.Any suggestions on kits (I have no probs at all in electronics construction)