Need help entering the Digital world.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all
I have been hanging around DIYAUDIO for many years, and have never delved outside the analogue section of this great site.

Anyway, it is now 2015, and I am getting dragged kicking and screaming into the digital world.

I have done as much research as I can, but I still am not comfortable that I fully understand what is required, and the best way to implement what I am trying to achieve.

I am sure that many may find my questions humorous!!
Anyway, here goes:

I have a vast collection of vinyl, many of them audiophile recordings, and a substantial collection of ½ in R to R of live band recordings. (Many of them using Nakamichi Hi Com and DBX Noise reduction)
All equipment for vinyl playback and R to R playback etc is ready to go.
Essentially, I would like to transfer all of these recordings to a computer / hard disk, at the highest possible resolution, without getting silly. (I hear 24 bit, 192 kHz is the way to go)

I have looked at several DAC’s with USB and fire wire interfaces, but can’t understand how you select the bit size and sampling rate, as most are just boxes with no controls.

Now the questions:

1.How do you alter the sampling rate / bit depth. Is this done through software? If so are there generic ones out there?

2.USB 2 or Fire wire?

3.What is the best format for high quality? I hear .WAV and .FLAC are the way to go

4.Any suggestions on commercial DAC’s, which are reasonably priced?

5.Any suggestions on kits (I have no probs at all in electronics construction)

6.Any of those being sold on EBay any good?

Once again, sorry to have to ask stupid questions, but at least here I am certain that I will get good advice

Kind Regards
George