Audio project with an FPGA?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!
I'm a third year student in electrical engineering and in one of my class we have to design something with an FPGA (from altera).
------
'For your term project you are to choose an interesting digital system, design the system in VHDL, synthesize it for the Altera family of FPGAs and gather statistics. Your project should use between 5,000 to 200,000 logic gates and can use multiple FPGAs.
------

I don't really know what can be done with FPGAs but I'd like to do something related to audio. I know groups from past years designed an mp3 decoder. This would have been interesting a couple of years ago but now I think it is over-used.
Any ideas are really welcome Btw, this is for a 3 credit class so it is not an 'End of degree project'.
Thanks a lot
David

Here are some proposed subject by the instructor...they don't look really attractive to me!!

1.. Error detecting-correcting modules. Some of the more advanced n-out-of-m error correcting codes (other than the Hamming codes) would be
very interesting topics.

2.. Various communication network protocols including ATM, SONET, Ethernet, FDDI, DBDQ, IBM token ring, high speed serial links or any recent development.

3.. Digital neural networks and fuzzy logic systems to recognize patterns or perform processing.

4.. A digital system including MPEG, JPEG, speech/image or video
compression and decompression systems, etc. Voice sub-band coding is one example; it can compress a 64 Kbit/s voice stream to about 8Kbit/s.

5.. RISC CPU, DSP and computer subsystems, for example, cache controller, schedulers, PCI bus interface.

6.. A hardware encryption/decryption units. The RSA, PGP, and DES algorithms are currently among the most popular.