Clock input to transport

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear all,

I must admit I am a novice in DIY Hifi. Recently, I experiemented with PC sound card & was quite impressed with what I heard. However, I still feel that there is room to improve. basically, I am using a PC with sound card digital output & HDD to replae my CD tranpsort.

My sound card, a RME DIGI96/8 PAD has an add-on module called the word clock module (WCM). The function of the WCM, among other things, is to sync external devices (i.e. a DAC in my application) so that jitter is thorwn out the window (somthing like that). My DAC, the AN DAC 1.1 kit does not have a separate clock signal input or output to allow for this feature of the sound card to be utilised. I am thinking rectifying this situation but am not entirely sure how to go about it. Here is my proposal :

1) Take the M Clock output of the CS8412 receiver ship in the DAC (pin 19) & use it to form a clock out signal & feed to the WCM of the sound card

or

2) Use a precision clock module (e.g. LC clock, trichord clock, Elso clock) to be placed in the PC & use it to feed the input of the WCM.

Do you think I am nuts ? Or the above proposal is something that can work. I am inspired by the following diagram taken form LC audio site.

Regards,
Joe Ling

Attachments

• clock circuit.jpg
    clock circuit.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 548
Word sync inputs don't attenuate jitter, they simpley synchronize two frequency domains. If you want a low jitter system, you need to start with a good master clock and feed that into your DAC. Then feed a divided word clock dervied from the master clock into the word sync input of the sound card. This way you won't need a SRC in the DAC.

BTW, I'm also looking at the RME cards because I need multichannel ADAT I/O for my crossover work. How do you like the card?

Dear jwb,