Opamp upgrade in Sony SCD 777es to AD8610? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd February 2002, 10:21 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Opamp upgrade in Sony SCD 777es to AD8610?

Hi there,

I fully admit I am new to DIY at this level, but I was wondering what anyone thinks of replacing the audio board opa2604 opamps in the SONY SCD 777es with the new Analogue Devices AD8610 opamps?

My research suggests that this opamp outperforms the opa627 with the added benefit of a more neutral midrange and speed of the ad825 with deeper bass response.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

TIA
Old 23rd February 2002, 11:34 PM   #2
sonnya is offline sonnya  Denmark
diyAudio Member

The max. working voltage on the AD8610 is +/-13.5V
Check the rails. Normaly it is +/-15V or more

If you mount them. Check if they oscillates at the output?. If the oscillates maybe they need better decoupling.

Sonny
Old 24th February 2002, 05:03 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hey Sonnya,

thanks for the feedback.

Lcaudio.com and audiocom-uk.com make dual AD825 modules with decoupling capacitors on them.

If I replaced the AD825s ont hes modules with the AD8610s, is you think that might make it work?
Old 24th February 2002, 07:54 AM   #4
sonnya is offline sonnya  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Should be no problem.

Sonny
Old 24th February 2002, 11:39 AM   #5
diyAudio Member