Opamp upgrade in Sony SCD 777es to AD8610?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

I fully admit I am new to DIY at this level, but I was wondering what anyone thinks of replacing the audio board opa2604 opamps in the SONY SCD 777es with the new Analogue Devices AD8610 opamps?

My research suggests that this opamp outperforms the opa627 with the added benefit of a more neutral midrange and speed of the ad825 with deeper bass response.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

TIA

The 2604 is supposed to be a pretty good IC. As a fellow 777 owner, I've been tempted to get mine modded, but the fear of having it develop problems and the need to use the warranty have kept me from doing this. I hope and pray that I never need to send it out. I gather that there have been some issues with these units regarding the spindle/motor/sled section. Y ou may want to think twice about doing any mods. I DO admit that the temptation is great though.

Sacd mods

Hi John,

I must admit this is an issue, but I have lready made several mods to my 777 and I am extremely happy.

If you are ver tempted here are the 2 mods that you have to do first. I found that they greatly improved my players perfromance.
I also shanged a number of passive components, but they are another story.

1. Replace the rca jacks with WBT, CARDAS or other high spec jacks and at the same time you simply must do #2.

2. Wire the audio signal directly to the jacks from the audio board bypassing the pin board.

3. Reconfigure the grounding.

See the following llinks:

http://www.audioasylum.com/forums/hirez/messages/41691.html

http://ryoko.telhope.com/~tkchan/777mod/777Mod.html

modwright.com has a whole tube output stage he offers.

I am actually waiting for;

www.vacuumstate.com

they have a kit that taps the vc24 chip and bypasses the rest of the audioboard right to a whole new set of output jacks.