CDP Mods - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th December 2003, 02:55 AM   #1
Fin is offline Fin
diyAudio Member

Question CDP Mods

Hi all

I am new to DIY so please forgive some stupidquestions or comments I might make . Over the last few weeks I have learned a lot from the questions and answers many of you have posted here. As a consequence, the bug has bitten and I am well on the modification madness. My humble 1991 Philips CD624 is the first victim and will be undergoing some, hopefully beneficial, changes.

Below is a List of Proposed Modifications:

Replace master clock: (TENTLabs XO2)
Master Clock power supply (TENTLabs XO Supply)
Replace op-amps in output stage: (AD8065, AD8066, OPA627, OPA637, OPA2134, LM6172)
Add extra transformer(s)/psu(s)
Replace power cable with EIC type (filtered & screened)
Replace all 1N4002 and 1N4148 diodes on with Schottky type: SB150/MBR150, should I use bigger ones ie MBR3100?)
Replace 78XX voltage regulators with LM317, LM337
Replace capacitors on power supply with better ones
Replace some resistors (Not sure if they make any difference)
Replace output capacitors
Remove muting transistors (Maybe replace with relays)
Replace metal jumpers with higher quality copper wire (Maybe)
Add a switch to turn off display (Maybe)
Disconnect headphone circuit (Maybe)
Add 75ohm resistor to digital output RCA (I can switch it off or should I disconnect it while CDP is open)
Replace op-amp NMJ4560 on turntable motor control (Not sure what to use)
Add heatsinks to all IC's to reduce vibration??
Shield some components with copper sheets
Add copper sheet to inside cover of player
Add dampening material to top and bottom of case
Add dampening material to transport mechanism