What difference does the quality of a digital interconnect make? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd August 2013, 07:13 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default What difference does the quality of a digital interconnect make?

First post so please excuse my ignorance....

I’v been pondering over this question for a while. I have a telecoms background and know a few things about digital cabling in general, although I’ve no knowledge of error correction/bit error rates, line speed negotiation, clocking etc.. with for example USB1.1/2/3 or SPdif/toslink etc.type interfaces.

If the digital interface specification is exceeding the required line rate (in relation to the sample rate of the material) and the interlink is conform specification then what difference does the “perceived” quality of the cable make? Since all we are trying to achieve is to recover sufficient bits at the other end.

The only thing I can think of is that these interfaces are prone to produce a lot of bit errors if no quality components are used. Is there a way (possibly some software), to measure this with.
Old 2nd August 2013, 10:34 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

A poor interconnect could introduce jitter due to impedance mismatch. Just use 75 ohm coaxial cable and 75 ohm plugs. Neutrik has them. Best is to change all sockets and plugs to BNC's. Also from Neutrik.
Old 2nd August 2013, 11:11 AM   #3
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

Digital signaling is effective HF signaling.

The cable and it's connectors must be suitable for HF.
That means accurate terminations at both ends and accurate maintenance of the cable impedance through the connectors and of and onto the boards.