Which CD player to mod?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm new to all this but fancy getting my fingers dirty modifying a CD player. I have a very basic understanding of electronics and audio circuitry, but can solder pretty well...

I currently use an old philips CD100, which I'd love to experiment with at a later date, but with my lack of experience I'd be too worried about damaging it.

Candidates for modding are currently:

Arcam Alpha 5
Arcam Alpha One
Marantz CD50
Technics SL-PS900 (quite nice, separate power supply for audio)
Mission DAD5/DAC5
Technics SL-PG100A (a challenge?)

I'd love to hear if anyone has any positive experience of modding any of these players.

Hi bluetomgold!

As no-one cleverer than me has said owt yet, I'll start things off for you! :)

I'm afraid I have no experience of the players you mention, but I have modified two players, the 2nd being a Marantz CD63KI. This is a very good player to mod, as the service manual is available from somewhere here(?) and there are lots of crap parts inside! It can be had for about £100 apparently, though I paid £180 for mine, seems a few people wanted them then - about 1yr ago - www.ebay.co.uk. Also good would be the successors: 67IISE, KI etc. The CD67SE sounds smooth in stock form, so that might be a safe bet. I hated the sound of the stock CD63ki because it was so harsh. It really needs a lot of work to make it sound anything like real music :( (one-note bass and harsh, brash top end - like an over-priced piece of boom-box)

But the modding is so much fun! A good place to start would be with the opamps - all the players you mention probably have crap ones - so replace with something nice like OPA2604 - which I used. Going to that from an NEXXX (cant remember) was a good upgrade, and for only a few quid. Use a small film cap across the PSU pins to ground too.