XMOS DSD 384 kHz / 32bit USB

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Actually, i use an Asus Xonar STX with 49990 opamps (i'm interested in this USB DAC for one of my friends) and i find it very satisfying for my taste, i really find it difficult to believe that a <100€ DAC can better it!
My interest is increasing, i'm quite thinking about buying one for myself... i'll try the one for my friend and evaluate a second purchase...

i had STX with 49720 opamps and few mods and for my taste it's a lot better.
there is a difference in soundstage and low end is more detailed. atleast on my setup ( DAC -> Tube preamp -> diy solid state amp -> Fostex Fe206En)

Hi,

... do you solve the buzz with the drivers in windows? will you write some drivers?...

Windows programing is not my favorite one (I'm not very experienced), and I rely on the driver supplied by XMOS. This error does not interfere to pleasure when listening music (this error arose only if one quickly changes Fs. Music does not stop and the solution is to leave the error window).

I received PID i VID numbers from XMOS and permission to distribute the driver. I guess my son will update website with the driver in a week or two.

... i'll need to have optical/coaxial inputs in the standalone DAC i'll realize using your XMOS/AK4396 combination. Is it possible to do?...

It's not possible to do this with one core XMOS processor. One has to use XS1-L2 dual-core XMOS processor, for now I don't plan to do such kind of board.

...Where should i connect the optical/coaxial inputs cable leads on the AK4396 board? ...

You can not do this directly. If you use S/PDIF receiver like DIR9001 you have to multiplex the I2S lines to AK4396.

...More: how could i connect a rotative switch to select between USB and coaxial inputs?...