Yamaha RX-V367

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm hoping I put this in the best section.

I just bought a broken RX-V367 with the intention of fixing it and maybe learning a little something along the way.

The receiver powers up, I hear multiple relays closing which to me suggests no problems with the power amps. The remote works, menus work and everything appears to operate.

However, so far I cannot get any sound from any outputs including the headphone jack. I have reset the receiver to factory defaults and no improvement.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what my next step should be? I'm assuming I need to scope it out but I'm a bit clueless as to how these modern receivers are laid out. I'm assuming the preamp section is a little fancier than a 1970s pioneer.

I have exactly the same issue that thetube0a3 (above) has, and while I am an engineer, it is mechanical, not electrical.... so I am asking for help please.
My unit I have had since new - 12 years (?)
Symptoms are exactly the same, so I figure it is a known issue, by those more knowledgeable than I.

The receiver powers up, I hear multiple relays closing which to me suggests no problems with the power amps. The remote works, menus work and everything appears to operate.

However, so far I cannot get any sound from any outputs including the headphone jack. I have reset the receiver to factory defaults and no improvement.

I also noted that the display was faded (Not full light power - approx 50 - 70%, with slight fluctuation) and that the unit switched OFF after a minute or so.

I put power tester to transformer and similar power paths, and power seemed to be where you would think it should be.
Fuses = OK.

The problem seems to be progressive - On first time failure (1 month earlier) I removed the covers of the amp, allowed it to cool, blew it out with compressed air, let it sit for a day, and it worked again.