Uh oh! A quick op amp question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th September 2012, 12:26 AM   #1
earplay is offline earplay  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Uh oh! A quick op amp question

Looking before I leap. As a newb, I'm wondering if I can switch the op amps on my Music Hall 25.2 CD player. The original op amps are four Burr-Brown OPA-2604's. I'm thinking it might be good to replace them with four National Semiconductor LM4562NA/NOPB DUAL HI PERF,HI FI (from Mouser).

Is this okay to do? Just pull the old ones and put in the new.

I think this is the case. I believe this op amp has been used to replace the stock op amps in the 25.2 CD player as I describe here. Not knowing the specs of the op amps involved, I'm going on what I've read regarding modding this cd player.

Last edited by earplay; 26th September 2012 at 12:51 AM. Reason: clarification
Old 26th September 2012, 12:55 AM   #2
DUG is offline DUG  Canada
diyAudio Member

Check the supply as the opa is +-25V and the LM is +-18

Other than that I am liking the LM's even though my ears would not be able to tell the difference. (but my mind would)
Old 26th September 2012, 01:03 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks DUG!

See, I was afraid this would happen. Right off the bat I'm in over my head. I don't know how to check the supply. I don't have the tools to check the supply. I don't know where to find information about the supply. I'll google around a bit now, tho.

From what you say, the 25.2's supply may be too great or too small for the LM, is that right?

Last edited by earplay; 26th September 2012 at 01:04 AM. Reason: clarity
Old 26th September 2012, 02:07 AM   #4
diyAudio Member