Beaglebone as digital source? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th June 2012, 03:45 PM   #1
ycy is offline ycy
diyAudio Member

Question Beaglebone as digital source?

Hello,

Recently, I brought a DAC(Yulong sabre D18), using PC sound card SPDIF output as digital source, and now seeking an alternative digital source. As an engineer, I think build a digital source myself is not a bad idea.

Basiclly what I want is find a suitable board that accept audio data and convert to SPDIF signal then feed to DAC. And I find beaglebone(it has already been discussed in some threads), which come with USB, ethernet and McASP interface. Audio data can be stored in HDD which connected to USB, or transfer via ethernet and McASP can be used to generate SPDIF signal. And finally I think I will get a mini audio server which running Linux and mpd.

Before turn a beaglebone board into a mini audio server, there are some problems I must sovle, both in hardware and software. The main problem in hardware is that I don't know whether McASP in AM355x is suitable for such a task(I don't have beaglebone board, I want to get more information before buy the board), the best I think is using a external clock as ACLKX for SPDIF output. The software problem is about alsa driver, but I think I can study and write the code myself. So, can anyone here that have experience with beaglebone or McASP give me any advice on the first problem?