Marantz CD85 won't play past track 16 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st March 2012, 07:19 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Marantz CD85 won't play past track 16

Hands up - I'm a bit of an amateur, but I can work to ensure electrostatic safety and can usually work things out. I have a modified Marantz CD85 that I bought faulty - the control/display panel was not working. I have found another standard CD85 and today swapped the front panels and was mighty pleased when the modified CD85 actually played, very well.

My disappointment came when I tried to load up a long CD with 20+ tracks and the 'fixed' unit refused to play any track past 16.

1. Can anyone help me (in simple terms) with a suggestion of what might be wrong?

2. My second option is to remove the fully functioning transport, mechanism assembly from the donor CD85 and install it into the modified player. Is this as simple as unbolting the bottom screws that attach it to the chassis and changing them over, or would laser alignment and other adjustments 'in situ' be required? I have done such a swap before with cheaper players without a thought and they have worked fine, but this is a high end unit with 3 external power supplies, custom off-board DAC unit, etc, etc, that I don't want to mess up. I would have no way of having a laser aligned.

Any advice would be very much appreciated

Cheers,
TD

Last edited by Tweedle12; 1st March 2012 at 07:21 PM.
Old 2nd March 2012, 07:53 AM   #2
poynton is offline poynton  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Location: A life on the ocean waves when I'm not at home in N. Wales (but I'm not Welsh so no sheep jokes!)
Just change the boards over.

No laser alignment is required.