Lampizator Transport

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm only new at the technical side of digital but the yellow wire is picking up the digital signal where it is purest, before d to a conversion.
A couple of resistors are used on the phono socket for level I think.
Read here it shows the mod done on a philips cd 940.

Fikustransport

"I wired the signal directly to the s/PDIF output - my newly installed RCA socket.
I tried it with the series cap and without, with the 75 resistor and without, and the conclusion is that no cap solution sounds best.
I used - starting from the source -> a wire, an L-pad to reduce the output by 1:4, -> 270 Ohms series to pin of RCA hot and from there -> 75 Ohms to ground,.
I eliminated the capacitor in series and the ugly signal transformer. Who needs transformer here ! It only distorts the signal. Who says galvanic isolation is necessary? This is not a telephone line buried under the desert. "

The trace is run close to ground on PCB's. The area of the resulted electro-magnetic loop is insignifiant. Proper termination with 75 ohm resistor limits further the influence of outside EM fields.
The "loop area" in the picture above is 10000 times bigger (between the wire and surrounding case). And no resistance termination at the connector - from what I can see.

This mod isn't new. Fikus posted it some years ago. I have tried it and it worked great on a similar DVD player. I used a different cap value (can't remember the value) and a 75ohm resistor. If you read Fikus' other stuff, you will note that he does use termination resistors. Sonic's comment about no ground return is "valid". You can add the ground yourself. I won't necessarily advocate doing such a mod on high end CD transports (Fikus does this even on top end CECs), but on a cheap and cheerful DVD player, why not.