nakamichi mb-2 disc loading problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. I'm new to this.
I have an early 90's Nakamichi MB-2 multi-disc cd player. When I load a cd it goes in fine but when I press play the drawer just opens back up and slides back out. I don't think it spins at all during that time. I'd appreciate any help I can get to fix this. thanks

If we are talking about an MB-2, and not an MB-2s, the first thing to check is whether or not the second stage of loading is happening fully. To check, you need to remove the top cover & observe what happens when you load a disc. Whether you hit play or not, once the drawer is closed fully, the second step is for the laser/transport mech to be lifted up under the cd until the cd is clamped & free to spin. If you aren't sure, just turn off power as soon as the mech stops doing anything & try spinning the cd with your finger. Should spin free & level, securely clamped by the magnetic clamper on top of it to the platter of the transport mech.
If this checks out, power up again, load a disc & see if, after cd is clamped, the disc spins within five seconds or so of clamping. If not, try re-loading & see if it starts spinning once you give it a clockwise spin with your finger. If yes, the platter motor needs work or replacement. If not, you may have a fairly rare case of a bad Sony KSS-210A laser.

Thanks!

very helpful info. Thanks a lot! I do have a Japan made MB-2, not the MB-2s. I also failed to mention that the unit was taken in for repair for the same problem years ago. They replaced a small part but I can't remember what it was. If it was the laser then I'm wondering if the laser is good and the connection is bad. I think you sent me on the right track though. I just have to figure out what to remove to access the laser and it's wires.