Zen -> Cen -> Sen, evolution of a minimalistic IV Converter - Page 122 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd September 2012, 06:05 PM   #1211
EUVL is offline EUVL  Europe
diyAudio Member

> but I chose to eat a Shabu Shabu and I am very satisfied with my choice in all regards... so I'm an artist !

You are not, but the cook is, because there are infinitely many ways to cook Shabu Shabu.
Even based on the same ingredients and recipe, you can still do it wrong and then it does not taste so nice anymore.

> What I have seen is prejudice against it...

Do what pleases you.
Just don't complain that your noise problem is a circuit design fault of the IV converter.
Because I don't have the buzz problem, and neither does Nic.

> In fact, in my estimate the SEN-board/Buffalo combo has >10 times the length of non-twisted cabling than has a well done stacked design.

If you put the bottom layer of the PCB close to a grounded conductor, you get effective shielding.
And if you place it at a much larger distance to any disturbance, or even better a Ground plane in between, you can suppress any disturbance pick up.
It is a bit more difficult to shield the cable connected to the digital circuit.
That is why twisted cable there (near the digital board) helps.

Patrick
Old 22nd September 2012, 06:32 PM   #1212
needsp is offline needsp  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi Nic

Is your layout still as shown here?

Zen -> Cen -> Sen, evolution of a minimalistic IV Converter

Mine is here-