AD1865 w/6DJ8 SRPP - mod suggestions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th June 2011, 12:19 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default AD1865 w/6DJ8 SRPP - mod suggestions

Just finished listening to this (also see attached circuit) DAC for about a week and am looking for some suggestions to modify the board a little. I have some experience in changing capacitors and resistors, but don't really know about reading schematics.

Is anyone able to suggest what might be some worthwhile changes to the circuit?
Attached Files
File Type: doc Schematic DAC AD1865_SRPP.doc (96.0 KB, 753 views)
Old 26th June 2011, 06:33 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordearl View Post
Just finished listening to this (also see attached circuit) DAC for about a week and am looking for some suggestions to modify the board a little. I have some experience in changing capacitors and resistors, but don't really know about reading schematics.

Is anyone able to suggest what might be some worthwhile changes to the circuit?
Replace the I/V transformers with ones from Sowter. The 9762.

SOWTER DAC I/V TRANSFORMERS

Sowter Transformer 9762 DAC INTERFACE* FOR AD1865N-J

The used ones in that kit will be the weak point.

I have a AudioNote Dac 1 kit which is also a NOS AD1865 design and I am fitting a pair of the 9762s to it in a few weeks.

Might also try them on an old Philips CD471 TDA1541 design as well.

I
Old 26th June 2011, 09:16 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Wow - they look good, a designed especially for the AD1865, but are there any other cheaper options? Those transformers are more than the kit and chassis put together!
Old 27th June 2011, 06:41 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote: