Cheap eBay DAC kit....sans OpAmp for simple I/V with resistor?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
In reference to this DAC kit:

Crystal CS4398 *2 CS8416 Parallel DAC Decoder DIY Kit | eBay

I am pretty new to the realm of DACs. To date I have built a couple of kits from eBay and swapped OpAmps and that's about the extent of my mods. I have been reading at Audiodesignguide some lately and the idea of replacing the OpAmp with a simple resistor for I/V has interested me. I was wondering if something like this could be done with this kit. If so, could someone help me figure out how to delete the OpAmp and tie a resistor network into this DAC?

I also have a par of UTC A-20 transformers that might also work? Not sure really.

Please remember I am an infant newbe to DACs and digital audio, explanations should be at the most infantile level.

Thanks for suggestions and ideas in advance!
Cheers!
Jeff

.......may be it's a good DAC, but with a feedback of 95.3% ????

You are referring to the sellers feedback.....I went back and read all of the negative and neutral. He hasn't had much problems over the past 6 months but it almost looks like this guy just started selling stuff over a year ago and had a run of bad luck with some delivery issues, miscommunications, and a few crappy watches he sold that weren't waterproof as advertised. When I read his feedback from the electronics he has sold lately he has had very good feedback. For $50 or so I think it's worth the risk. I also have PayPal Advantage so I won't lose in the end of I do get a raw deal from this guy.

So, you think the UTCs would work well here? How would you implement them?