XMOS-based Asynchronous USB to I2S interface

I'm going to be using a TP "Teleporter" to send the I2S via CAT6 cabling and something I read from the TP people indicated that you don't need to connect the ground, just use DATA, LRCK and BCLK. I'm a novice at DIY Hi-Fi and I find this I2S connection matter very confusing! All help gratefully received!

When using the Teleporter, a ground connection between the WaveIO and DAC is not required.

...the signal in a USB lead is the difference between D+ and D- referred to ground. No ground? No signal. . . . My "idea" was to try cutting the ground line as well. . . . When I get my WaveIO working well (it's sounding pretty damn good even now), I'll try again.

Thanks for reporting your experimental results. I am very interested in the results of eliminating that ground while using WaveIO. Fortunately USB supports error detection and retry on failure so if ground actually is required rather than D+ and D- being able to work while floating, errors will be posted.

Detecting those errors is a snap with thesycon drivers. Simply launch tusbspy.exe, the thesycon utility, while listening to music thru WaveIO. Then sever the USB ground connection to pc. If the music keeps playing I suspect a broad smile will cross your face given the success of your idea. In the error case, you can find and record the code from among those kept by tusbspy.

Joined 2004
Paid Member
USB grounding