Is it possible to get digital out from MP3 player? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st March 2011, 03:19 PM   #1
TB is offline TB  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Is it possible to get digital out from MP3 player?

Hello,
I am new to digital media players. I have searched related threads and the outcome is that majority of MP3 players do not have digital outs. But, no one mentioned USB input on all of them used to charge/downlod music files. Is it possible to use that connection to take the digital signal out? If yes what would be the signal format?
Reason why I ask is to have stand alone FLAC player. I have noticed few threads about FLAC players, but all of them mentioned use of computer what I want to avoid.
Old 31st March 2011, 05:04 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The USB port on those devices is a peripherial (slave) port, not a host one. You cannot attach another slave device on it (like the USB DAC) because both need a host to work (the PC).
Old 31st March 2011, 05:08 PM   #3
FrankWW is offline FrankWW  Canada
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by TB View Post
Hello,
I am new to digital media players. I have searched related threads and the outcome is that majority of MP3 players do not have digital outs. But, no one mentioned USB input on all of them used to charge/downlod music files. Is it possible to use that connection to take the digital signal out? If yes what would be the signal format?
Reason why I ask is to have stand alone FLAC player. I have noticed few threads about FLAC players, but all of them mentioned use of computer what I want to avoid.
Do you want it to play FLAC files or do you want FLAC out?

Sansaclip claims to play FLAC files.