i2c radio, Where can I buy/build an

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
For my carputer, I'm going to pull my head unit and replace it with an amplifier and radio. Thing is, I don't want to use a USB radio, as they're not very compatible OS-wise and very expensive for what they are. Thus, I've decided that the best bet is a radio/tuner that I can plug into the audio-in jack and control over the i2c port.

I'm a mechanical engineer and have some electrical engineering knowledge, thus I'm open to building my own (likely with a philips 5767 chip or some derivation therof), but for quality reasons I'd rather buy a premade board.

Can anyone help me? Does this sort of thing even exist? (If it doesn't, I'd love to design it, but I don't think that I have the expertise to start from zero. Maybe a good summer project?)

Look at TI

Don't know what is out there built already, but TI makes a DSP based radio that is ran using I2C controls. I know that a Digital card is made using it in GB - it includes an am/fm reciever as well as the digital tuner. I don't know any of the specs of where it works - Canada, or Europe is unknown. Just not here in the US.

Secondly, I think a company here in the States is using it for a multiband radio - Ten Ten [???] or something like that.

You can also look at the XMPCR for XM service. It uses a computer to provide control, and if you do a slight alteration (see thread in digital section) you can get digital outputs for it too. It would be way cool to implement this in a car since you could skin the controls the way you want. There is a growing DIY movement around this little box - and at $69, its pretty cheap to play with.

Sawzall--