advice needed (regarding MARANTZ CD65)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,
I am reading this forum allot lately. and I need some advice...
I am currently using NAD5425 CD as my CD player. I want to upgrade. I was offered a MARANTZ CD65 at about 40 British pounds. I can afford it, but I have no idea if the upgrade is that noticeable (I have no experience, at all, with MARANTZ devices).

I did read allot of good things about this player, and I really love my NAD.

Questions are:
1) Is it a worthy upgrade (I'm all for modding...)
2) Is it a decent price (Player should be in a working condition...) ?

The Marantz CD65 is a nice enough player, but will only really shine if you modify it. The original CD65 is more or less the same as a Philips CD650 (see this massive thread), but if it is a CD65DX or CD65 Mk2 it will be a bit different, but still good.

GBP40 is a good price for one, I would buy it if offered it at that price. If your up for modifying it, it should easily beat your NAD. There's plenty of inspiration in that thread!

Hi guys,
I am reading this forum allot lately. and I need some advice...
I am currently using NAD5425 CD as my CD player. I want to upgrade. I was offered a MARANTZ CD65 at about 40 British pounds. I can afford it, but I have no idea if the upgrade is that noticeable (I have no experience, at all, with MARANTZ devices).

I did read allot of good things about this player, and I really love my NAD.

Questions are:
1) Is it a worthy upgrade (I'm all for modding...)
2) Is it a decent price (Player should be in a working condition...) ?

liquias
The Marantz CD65 sounds fabulous after proper modification, but it is a damn nightmare to keep working when the IDP connectors start to play up due to age.I eventually gave up on mine for that reason.

SandyK.