Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th September 2010, 12:44 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Looking for SDI to HDMI converter project

As a videographer I find the HD/SDI out on my professional camcorder (Sony PMW-EX1) to be very limiting. There are many more interfaces with HDMI than SDI.

The SDI to HDMI converters are very expensive so I searched for a DIY project and came up with nothing.

Does anyone know of or have such a project plan?

Thanks,

John
Old 14th September 2010, 04:43 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

HDMI chips contain HDCP encription with an unique serial. There are not sold to DIY people, because we are all pirates and we cannot be trusted with such devices...
Old 17th September 2010, 08:41 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the reply. I didn't realize that. I guess I'll buy a converter.

Thanks again,

John
Old 18th September 2010, 06:43 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by craftech View Post
As a videographer I find the HD/SDI out on my professional camcorder (Sony PMW-EX1) to be very limiting. There are many more interfaces with HDMI than SDI.

The SDI to HDMI converters are very expensive so I searched for a DIY project and came up with nothing.

Does anyone know of or have such a project plan?

Thanks,

John
Is there anything in particular you want to connect to ?
Old 18th September 2010, 08:46 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfbrw View Post
Is there anything in particular you want to connect to ?
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, an HD monitor with an HDMI input. My professional camera does not have HDMI out, only HD SDI out.

Thanks,

John
Old 19th September 2010, 04:22 PM   #6
diyAudio Member