Arcam cd8se help needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, My problem is that my 8se will not play cds. The laser goes to the outside end of rail and bobs up and down very quickly. I replaced the laser assy but it didn't help. Someone with a similar problem suggested it may have something to do with timing and the clock on the dac board. I replaced the reg that looked like it may have overheated, but to no avail. I have a Roksan dac and connected that up but it didn't help. Can I remove the internal dac or does the player need this even when using an external dac? If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it. I'm a beginner so simple words please. Thank you. Barry

It's unlikely to have anything to do with the DAC.

The clue may be in the "overheated" regulator.
What caused it to overheat ?
What part of the circuit does it supply?

Without a circuit diagram or service information, you are going to have a hard time !

Andy

Hi Mooly, It hasn't been played with or tweeked. It just decided to run to the end of the sled and the laser jumps up and down very quickly. If I move the laser to the centre it just goes back to the edge. Two other people have now told me it has something to do with the clock which is on the dac board, that is why I wondered if I removed the dac board and used my roksan dac, would the clock on that make it work. Barry

Hi.

These symptoms definately indicate that the transport is recieveing no clock. DO NOT RUN THE SYSTEM FOR ANY LENGTH OF TIME LIKE THIS! it will burn out the laser. When doing the check listed below avoid running the system for longer than about 10 seconds at a go.

The first thing to check is that the cable connecting the DAC to the main PCB hasn't come loose. So gently push it into its socket and see if there is any movement. Retest the system quickly. Then try removing it and replacing it carefully. Retest again.