Rotel RCD971 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th June 2009, 03:51 AM   #1
warpig is offline warpig  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Rotel RCD971

Hello All

I did do some research on the forums about this player. Most threads are a year old if not older. I just bought one to replace my player that broke. I bought a 971 for a few reasons. It did not cost much, easy to mod and seems to be a pretty good player in general plus to get my feet wet in the with mods.

I have never did any mods to my electronics in the past though I do feel like I am able to. So I have a few questions and I am currently away from the 971. Remember I am new to this the reason for this thread and that most were old threads.

opamps I see where some said the ad827 seemed to be a good choice if so is this still true to this date or perhaps something new has came out. The opamps are soldered? If so is there a socket you can add to make it easier to rotate? Also when changing the opamps is there anything elase that needs to be changed or is it just one for the other.

One member Ruach if I am not mistaken wrote in a thread There are some very nice mods that you can do to the 971. Putting in a dedicated clock and a transformer for the analog stage will bring the performance of the 971 to another level. He said he had some pictures and other info circuit diagram.

If anone still has this info can I get it.

cr250r1 at gmail dot com

Or you can just email me through my profile and I will reply

If I think of anything else I will but it in this thread.

Thanks All
Old 18th June 2009, 05:28 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Another question about opamps that I forgot to ask.