VRDS 20 problem -isolation

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I've got a Teac VRDS 20 that I use as a transport. A few years ago I disconnected the analog boards as I didn't use them, more juice for the digital part and no interference etc.

Now I reconnected it all, and suddenly I have a weird problem.
There are two relais on the balanced board, and they click like crazy. A few clicks during power-up, when starting a cd, when paused, when skipping to the next track. And no sound whatsoever, just a few thumps. I checked whatever I could (I'm not a digital techie..) but there's nothing broken etc.
I also can't remember hearing those clicks when I first got the player, they're pretty loud.

Now the funny thing is that this does not occur when I use a mains isolation transformer...
Maybe it's too late, and I should sleep on it, but I'm completely lost here: what's the difference???:confused:
Does anyone have an idea?

Thanks for thinking with me!

jitter said:
Sounds like bad grounding (oxidation) to me, that can do really weird things. Thoroughly clean every connector on the board (and its counterpart on the cable) and try again.

I will do that ;)

But once more: there's no problem when I use an isolation xformer (een scheidingstrafo). That has something to do with grounding too of course :xeye: I just don't know enough about these things:smash:

The connectors haven't been used in years, so your point of oxidation makes perfect sense..

When you disconnected the analog board did you remove all 3 connectors shown?

Cheers George

Attachments

• teac06.jpg
    teac06.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 149
Miniwatt said:
But once more: there's no problem when I use an isolation xformer (een scheidingstrafo). That has something to do with grounding too of course :xeye: I just don't know enough about these things:smash: