Marantz cd-67mk2 skipping - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th August 2008, 03:33 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Marantz cd-67mk2 skipping

Newbie here looking for help. love my music and did in the 90s spend a bit of money on the following.

Oblisk 2 amp
Marantz cd-67se cd player
B&W P4s
Can't remember the speaker cable or interconnects but they were all upgraded.

My problem is the CD player, it started to skip even on new clean disks. Plus we started to save music onto the computer and i connected the Amp to the computor and listened to music that way.

I'm not into spending 1000 and i don't get that much chance to listen to music at home but would like to play the odd CD.
Please help do i buy a second hand unit repair mine or buy a Cambridge Audio c5 for 100.
Plus i bought the Marantz new from 7oaks when they were being sold off, so i know it's been looked after ad had little use.

thanks for any help

Chris.
Old 27th August 2008, 03:39 PM   #2
poynton is offline poynton  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Location: A life on the ocean waves when I'm not at home in N. Wales (but I'm not Welsh so no sheep jokes!)
Silly question, maybe..... have you cleaned the laser lens?

Andy
Old 27th August 2008, 04:07 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

now don't shoot me but i did buy a lense cleaner but it was he cheap cd with the brushes on, if that makes sence!

Should i clean with cotton bud and some sort of turps?

Thanks for the reply, don't realy want to change the cd, it used to sound cracking when working.
Old 27th August 2008, 06:00 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Location: A life on the ocean waves when I'm not at home in N. Wales (but I'm not Welsh so no sheep jokes!)
Default Definitely not turps !!!