Basic DAC Question (PCM2707)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I'm completely new to the world of DAC's but am looking at building one to connect to my gainclone from my laptop. I have recently received samples of the PCM2707 and thought I would simply connect it to the USB and connect the analog output pins to a nice opamp such as a opa2134. However, every search I do everyone connects this chip to another DAC using the I2S interface. Is there a reason for this and what are the problems I will face if I go down the path of designing a DAC on my simple idea?

Thanks! :)

wiredmonkey said:
Hi All,

I'm completely new to the world of DAC's but am looking at building one to connect to my gainclone from my laptop. I have recently received samples of the PCM2707 and thought I would simply connect it to the USB and connect the analog output pins to a nice opamp such as a opa2134. However, every search I do everyone connects this chip to another DAC using the I2S interface. Is there a reason for this and what are the problems I will face if I go down the path of designing a DAC on my simple idea?

Thanks! :)
The performance of PCM2707 as a DAC isn't all that great, especially compared to its brother the PCM2702, which is the one everyone uses as a standalone DAC. Since the PCM2702 is so much better, the PCM2706/7 are primarily used as a USB->I2S (or SPDIF) interface.

There's nothing inherently wrong with the PCM2707's DAC, it works fine and it's just as easy to use as the PCM2702. Just consider:

PCM2707 THD+N into 10K - 0.012%
PCM2702 THD+N into 10K - 0.002%

PCM2707 SNR-A - 98dB
PCM2702 SNR-A - 105dB

PCM2707 channel separation - 70dB
PCM2702 channel separation - 103dB

wiredmonkey said:
OH! That explains it :) I'll go get some pcm2702's now! I guess whilst I've started this thread would anyone know where I could get a TQFP 32 to DIP adapter in Australia?