Delta 1010 Mods: op-Amps, Caps, power supply, clock

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hopefully I am not breaking with convention in starting a new thread about mods to M-Audio's Delta 1010. I know there have been several threads that have dealt with portions of this topic, but I am hoping to possibly create a new thread with references back to some of the old threads because it has been quite difficult finding the information that I have been looking for.

I have a couple of 1010's and I have been working with them pretty much without incident since 2000. Recently I have been experiencing sounds like bad cable distortion on input of some of the channels. After power cycling the system, the problem goes away and then comes back intermittently after a certain amount of time. This sounds like the bad cap problem that many have alluded to here. On inspection, I also noticed bulging on some of the power caps as well. I will send the offending unit back to M-Audio to let them fix the problem. I dotted all of the caps in the box to see what they actually replace and what they leave alone.

Now that I have opened one, I want to improve the units.

I understand that the mods basically consist of the following:

1) Power Supply Mods. At least replacing caps to firm up the power supply. Many have recommended higher quality caps with higher values to stiffen or stabilize the power. (Thanks to mtl777 for asking many of the questions already! http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?postid=1429935#post1429935
)

2) Replacing Op-amps with Burr Brown (TI Now) op-amps [OPA2604AU-ND]. There seems to be some consensus that this is the right thing to do.

Do the pins from the two different op-amps match up?

3) Replacing the caps in the analog audio path with nicer higher-quality versions of the same value with equal or greater voltages