Finally, an affordable CD Transport: the Shigaclone story

mur860 T0220 stupid question

looking at the datasheet of the mur860 TO-220 ac I am confused. I've never worked with this style of diode before.
It looks like either leg is "in" and the case with the mounting hole is "out"
I'd a thunk that one leg would be "in" and the other leg would be "out".
Could someone please enlighten me on this very basic question (sorry).
Thanks,
Paul

looking at the diode from the front (ie heatsink side away from you), the left leg is cathode and right leg is anode. The back of the diode (ie heatsink contact) is connected to the cathode. So you may need to insulate if you were using a heatsink.

However, you won;t need a heatsink on those diodes in this application....

I think that a goo dnumber of to220 style diodes follow this same pinout.

looking at the datasheet of the mur860 TO-220 ac I am confused. I've never worked with this style of diode before.
It looks like either leg is "in" and the case with the mounting hole is "out"
I'd a thunk that one leg would be "in" and the other leg would be "out".
Could someone please enlighten me on this very basic question (sorry).
Thanks,
Paul

Paul,

please take a look here, cathode is at one of the leg, which is also connected to the TO220 Tab:

to220.jpg

Now I must open my CD Transport earlier, because the laser does not read any CDs anymore :confused:

Regards,
Rudy

Hi Rudy,

Did this happen suddenly or as a result of a modification/change/repair etc., I guess you probably did check the laser switch as well ???

Try to remember the last time you touched it and what you did...even when I am still busy with a second one at the moment I still do one (small) thing at the time to try to stay in control of it...

Hi Erik,