Finally, an affordable CD Transport: the Shigaclone story

audiojoy said:
one step beyond - madness may be but fun exciting and like being at the forefront of scientific research, The quest for time travel will for ever make us search for that last bit of realism.

I am ordering another three ez51,s now only £20 each in the uk.

Those tiny surface caps are really bothering me in a rather primitive manner...... they look like bottlenecks but i am no electronic engineer and cannot qualify that statement. But i do know that changing two tiny caps in the power supply pathway of the shigalone made a significant difference, imagine how many of those buggers on there!!

Just changed surface mount voltage regulators in VALAB's TDA1543 dac with lm317 again an apparent significant improvement in sound!!

I am gonna go for another trial of surface mount cap changes, try the bybees,my own DIY version-similar effect,try a pioneer stable platter turntable disc as the puck with its aluminium and rubber mat, add mass to the cd motor spinning wheel, finally consider the digitalampizator as i have already built and successfully used one. Hope I can find the time.

Master of confusion
:smash: :smash: :smash: :smash: :smash: :smash: :smash: :smash: :smash:

Erik,

just to let you know I posted that item this morning - you should have it in a week or so (my internet is down at home so I have n access to my email at the moment).

I made another puck last night, this one is bigger and made from that ceramic/resin material I mentioned above. I'm kinda convinced that it sounds different than the ebony one but the difference is small. I didn't get to listen for long enough last night to really tell, but I think the ebony one might be better. We're talking very small margins though.