DIY Discrete regulators - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st February 2008, 01:32 AM   #1
gareth is offline gareth  Wales
diyAudio Member

Default DIY Discrete regulators

Hi, I am fairly new to this DIY scene and was wondering if it would be possible to build my own discrete regulators to be used with my Marantz CD 63se.

I know there are commercial versions availble using SMT components, but still I would like to try.

What I have seen fit straight into where the existimg LM... type regulators are.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Gareth
Old 1st February 2008, 08:37 AM   #2
Mooly is online now Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Gareth, Yes it's possible of course to make a discrete version of a 3 pin regulator, but the the performance of even standard 78xx types is so good you could easily end up with a much poorer supply. Semiconductor manufacturers invest millions in design and it's wishful thinking to think a handful of discrete components will do a better job. That's not to say it's not good fun of course If you want to try tweaking you're player check out some of the other mods first, op-amps and so on. If you make a mistake on a P.S.U. you could easily right the player off. If you are intent on making a discrete regulator I would suggest making one first as a separate project and fully test it (noise, regulation, dropout etc) on the bench rather than in the player.
Regards Karl
Old 1st February 2008, 09:57 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Here's a good one to try:

http://www.audioasylum.com/forums/pc...s/2/24191.html

Dan
Old 1st February 2008, 11:06 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Mooly