DIY Discrete regulators

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I am fairly new to this DIY scene and was wondering if it would be possible to build my own discrete regulators to be used with my Marantz CD 63se.

I know there are commercial versions availble using SMT components, but still I would like to try.

What I have seen fit straight into where the existimg LM... type regulators are.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Gareth

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hi Gareth, Yes it's possible of course to make a discrete version of a 3 pin regulator, but the the performance of even standard 78xx types is so good you could easily end up with a much poorer supply. Semiconductor manufacturers invest millions in design and it's wishful thinking to think a handful of discrete components will do a better job. That's not to say it's not good fun of course :) If you want to try tweaking you're player check out some of the other mods first, op-amps and so on. If you make a mistake on a P.S.U. you could easily right the player off. If you are intent on making a discrete regulator I would suggest making one first as a separate project and fully test it (noise, regulation, dropout etc) on the bench rather than in the player.
Regards Karl

Mooly said: