Splitting AES/EBU Signal - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th January 2008, 02:06 PM   #1
KCCT82 is offline KCCT82  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Splitting AES/EBU Signal

Hello, my dad and I have been using computer as CD transport for a few years now and we have always wanted to have more than one of the same AES/EBU (XLR) signal. Because the behringer dcx2496 digital x-over has 6 outputs, we can only go up to 3 way stereo. We would like to use 2 dcx2496 for a maximium of 6 way stereo (we'll only use 4). The source is a custom computer using a lynxTwo soundcard, his friend somehow intergrated the exact audio copy program in it so the output would be a perfect signal, but unfortunatly, only 1 signal is provided. I know one of the new XTA digital x-over has 8 outputs but that unit is quite expensive. We'd rather use a quality splitter and 2 dcx2496 to save $$$.
I found this: http://www.etslan.com/pdf%20docs/PA830.pdf
It seems like it will solve my problem but I want to know how much this thing will degrade my signal? Lowering the signal by 3 db is fine as long as the split signals are still very good. Can anyone help out? Thanks

PS- we will consider anything less than $1000
Old 7th January 2008, 02:11 PM   #2
flshzug is offline flshzug  Antarctica
Banned

why not buy the LS-AES expander for multiple AES output You could diy DAC and if the cpu is powerful enough go for 96khz oversampling and even do the XO ... Im about to use Lynx AES-16 and Im no fan of crapola external EQ...
Old 7th January 2008, 02:16 PM   #3
Did it Himself
diyAudio Member

Sounds to me like all you need is the XLR equivalent of a RCA Y-splitter lead? Make one yourself if you can't buy one. Should be under $20.