Modding NAD C542 running into problems...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm new to this forum, and I'm hoping to get some help from you guys.

I came upon a thread in this forum where some people were very enthusiastic about modifying the Nad c542 cd-player. As I have some experience with DIY having built my own speakers and a gainclone, I thought I would give it a shot!
Initially everything worked well and I got significant improvements removing the muting transistors and replacing the DC-blockers in the output section with MKP-type capacitors. I went on to replacing some of the transistors in the output section and some filtering caps in the power supply with Black gates. This also worked very well.
But when I moved on to replacing some caps around the DAC-chip and reinstalling, in the power supply, some of the Nichicon fine golds that had been pulled out from the output section, I ran into problems...
When I turned the CD-player on it played for a minute or so and then one channel just died. Since just one channel were affected I thought the problem must be in the analog section. Probably due to a capacitor somehow malfunctioning when it got warm. Would this reasoning be correct?
I should mention that some of the capacitors i put in were lover voltage rating then the ones pulled out. This was because when I ordered the capacitors I was looking at the service manual, and here some caps vere 16v, that turned out to be 50v in the actual player... So I pulled these out again and put the original caps back in. The problem remained just the same.