how to DIY MP3 with Dolby Digital and output in SPDIF?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a project manager at a design company. I have a retail display project for a headphone company. Part of the requirement is a MP3-like solution to demo their Dolby Digital 5.1 headphones. I've considered MP3 and DVD players. Problem with MP3 is that it is not SPDIF and Dolby Digital. Problem with DVD (with SD or USB slot) is the wiring. They have specific wiring requirements to ensure that it can connect to their headphones.

They gave us the following specs:
1. Digital audio output (SPDIF) to connect with 2 types of headphones:
A Type: 4 wires
- 2 for +5v +GND
- 2 for SPDIF
Power consumption < 130 mA@max
B Type: 5 wires
- 2 for +5v +GND
- 3 for R, L, Audio Ground
Power consumption < 110 mA@max

Power is needed to power the headphones.

2. Flash Memory via SD card or USB (1 gig to contain 30 sec loop)

3. Control: "play" button must be pushed for music to play. music stops after it is played. music starts again only when "push play" button is pushed again.

I am not an engineer and so dont understand what they mean by their 4 - 5 wires requirements, or how that can be connected to the Digital Audio output on the back of DVD players (coaxial or Toslink). Any help would be appreciated.

this is the way I understand it:
the 2 wires (of the 4 wire output) for S/PDIF would be the same as the coaxial digital audio (S/PDIF) output from the DVD player.

the 3 wires L,R, GND (of the 5-wire type) would be analog stereo mix-down from the DVD.

as the headphones are active, most likely line-level signals.

thanks.

For Audio signals
"4 wire combination"
the 2 wires for SPDIF / is there a coaxial to "2-wires" connection? my question is how
can this be connected?
"5 wire combination"
the 3 wires (L,R,GND) / can that be done via just standard RCA jack (L,R - red & white)? but how about the GND?