Help with Philips VAM1202/12 Alignment

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings all:

I have an ESound E5 that the transport died in. I ordered what I thought was a new transport (based on the pic from the supplier site) but instead received just the laser unit.

I installed it, and it worked for a few weeks. Now, it no longer works.

What was interesting is it had trouble reading track 1 from the beginning just after I installed it, and it slowly got worse over time as it was trying to read the discs...

I didn't adjust the little pot that is located down on the laser board. I have never adjusted a cd player before....

Does anyone have the service manual for this unit? At least the adjustment page?

or

Would someone be willing to walk me through how to align it? I'm a newbie with this, so it will require patience!

Lastly, I did buy two laser units so I have another new spare in the box if necessary...

Thanks for any advice or help!

Steve

PS - The ESound E5 is awesome when it's working right out of it's single ended outputs. However, I am extremely disappointed in Cattylink as they have simply ignored my requests for help since I purchased the unit used. I was very willing to pay for service but they have just blown me off. To their credit, they did immediately respond asking if the unit was under warranty, but from that point on Snowy refused to respond further.

Hi.

There are a lot of very dodgy VAM1202's around.

For example, there has been a lot of comment on the CD63/67 thread about units from one source in the UK being very unreliable whereas units from another source are OK.

You can try turning the small trimmer on the flexible foil a bit clockwise. If that cures your problems, it's the laser.

Otherwise, try the other unit . If it performs the same, buy from another source.

Andy

Can I swap a VAM1250 in it's place?