Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th August 2007, 07:13 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default build a USB DAC

I'd like to DIY myself a USB DAC. I'd like it to be able to record in 24-96 and play back in 24-96, of course higher sampling frequencies can't really hurt. The problem is, I'm not sure if most DAC's out there offer this kind of recording ability. I'd also like to not spend more than $80 or so and am willing to try and solder the mini parts.

My questions:

1: does anyone know a DAC PCB that's pretty inexpensive?

2: if a DAC says it has a 24-96 output, does that necessarily mean that it can record at that rate also?

sorry for these basic questions but I'm relatively new to the whole DAC scene. getting a laptop has prompted some consideration.
Old 15th August 2007, 10:17 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

A DAC can record? Where does it keep the records?
Old 15th August 2007, 01:07 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Re: build a USB DAC

Quote:
Originally posted by sorenj07
I'd like to DIY myself a USB DAC. I'd like it to be able to record in 24-96 and play back in 24-96, of course higher sampling frequencies can't really hurt. The problem is, I'm not sure if most DAC's out there offer this kind of recording ability. I'd also like to not spend more than $80 or so and am willing to try and solder the mini parts.

My questions:

2: if a DAC says it has a 24-96 output, does that necessarily mean that it can record at that rate also?

sorry for these basic questions but I'm relatively new to the whole DAC scene. getting a laptop has prompted some consideration.