Adcom GCD-750 Traverse Deck Replacement?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,
I have an Adcom GCD-750 CD player, for around 5 years. After moving, the unit started back skipping and front skipping a bit. I took it to an authorized service center that said the "servo assembly" needed to be replaced, for $285.00 just for the part, then they told me that they would not get the part fast enough, because the shop owner was retiring, and closing for good at the end of the month. I paid my 25 dollar deposit and got the unit back.

I called up Adcom about this, and they gave me the part number for it. A "traverse deck" made by Panasonic for $285.00. I quickly searched the internet, and found this piece brand-new from a wholesale parts warehouse for $50.00.

My question is:

Is it a really hard job to do this myself? I have some technical knowledge, but never worked with lasers before, and do not know if this needs to be aligned, or adjusted after installation. I paid nearly $1300.00 for this unit, and love it to death. Would there be any other "smarter" way to go about getting this fixed without paying out the ying-yang?

Any help would be appreciate, Hence my username for my first post:smash:

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi GCD750,
Welcome to DiyAudio!

I would buy the manual right from Adcom if I were you. If I could find it somewhere, I would have loved to have grabbed it. That's one question answered.

Normally you can't simply replace the mechanism. There may be some adjustments involved. If you have a link, can you post it? I can give you much more intelligent information then.

As far as mechanisms go, historically Matsushita is very good. Better than the Philips stuff normally is. So this is probably a good thing.